Book Review #37 LEGACY by Michelle Lowe

LEGACY was sent to me as an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. Due to a number of reasons, that I will not bore you with, it has taken me a long time to finish reading and review. This is no reflection on the novel itself. I really enjoyed it!

Publisher: Nordland Publishing

Available: 28 Aug 2016

LEGACY is a steam punk, fantasy.

Indigo Peachtree has spent his life making toys for children.

The kindly old toymaker has carried a secret with him that he wants to keep hidden. Yet as with most secrets they tend to come up to the surface.

Tarquin Norwich has learned of a journal containing everything Indigo desperately wants to protect. When Indigo goes underground, Tarquin seeks help from a witch. The witch–Mother of Craft–tells him that to find Indigo, and his journal, he will need two outlaw brothers.

Tarquin sends his children, Archie and Clover, across the English Channel to snare Pierce Landcross, the first of the two outlaws, while Tarquin and his eldest son, Ivor, capture Pierce’s estranged brother, Joaquin. All in an effort to find the missing toymaker.

As Pierce is being pulled back to England, his desperate situation turns around when he’s saved by a crew of Apache privateers known as the Sea Warriors. And instead of fleeing with his seabound mates, Pierce decides to return to England to try to save his old friend, Indigo.

Going back means Pierce will encounter old dangers…as well as face a past he’d much rather leave behind.

Description taken from Goodreads

One of the reasons I enjoyed this book, is that there are several characters within it that I care about. Michelle cleverly links together the lives of a few characters that are motivated by different reasons. Their lives become entangled in a beautiful web that we get to watch as they become more ensnared with each other for better or worse.

The brotherly and sisterly bond between Clover and Archie is moving to witness. As a young girl, Clover is insightful, smart and lovable. Archie is frantically trying to protect his secret and keep Clover innocent and safe. 

Pierce is a fabulous character. Quite simply, I adore him.

He is a flawed yet compassionate thief who I thoroughly enjoyed reading about. I found his history fascinating and his personal struggles intriguing. 

This is a good book. I connected well with the characters. The plot was interesting and I definitely want to continue following the story in the next in the series. I think that the world building was good but not as ‘beautiful’ (for want of a better word) as I have read on other books. There was nothing in the description that wowed me or left me in awe, but otherwise, it was a book that I feel privileged to have been able to read.

I give this book 3 stars *** and recommend it to you.

Here’s the Pinterest board I created whilst reading it:

http://pin.it/MlZQ5iB

Leave a Reply

