Book Review #33 THE ALPHA DRIVE by Kristen Martin

The Alpha Drive (The Alpha Drive, #1)

I requested this book on Net Galley (N.G.) and was pleased to receive an electronic copy to review. It’s my first ever review on N.G. The write up sounded interesting and it sounded like the sort of book I’d really enjoy.

The premise is that, in the year 2055, a teenage girl called Emery has just started attending a boarding school when she is invited to join an organisation (The Alpha Drive) training to fight 7S- an anarchist organisation that has half of the world in a coma-like state. But when Torin reaches out to her from the other side, Emery begins to question everything she has been told.

Ir’s an interesting idea and, in a way, it reminded me of the Matrix. But I don’t feel that it was executed as well as it could have been. It started well and I was genuinely interested in what was going to happen. How was Emery going to be recruited? How was it all going to start?

Unfortunately, it didn’t quite live up to expectations. The story in itself is good, the idea fascinating. The execution… not so much.

I felt that Kirsten used a lot of telling in her writing. At times I was thrown out of the narrative by the awkwardness of the writing. The world building was lacking and the relationships confusing. Emery and her roommate Rhea start as good friends then it suddenly turns awkward. But then they are meant to really care about each other. I just ended up confused.

When things happened to the main characters I wasn’t at all upset or concerned. I didn’t really care, which I’m absolutely gutted about because I really wanted to care. I really wanted to enjoy this book.

There is another book in the series but I don’t think I will read it immediately. However, I am interested to see how Kirsten’s writing continues- will it change and develop? However, if you like dystopian, futuristic science fiction then I would recommend that you give it a go. As I have said, the story idea itself is good but the writing needed more work.

I have given this book 2 stars **

It is interesting and has great potential but doesn’t quite live up to them.

I am very grateful to the publisher and author for allowing me to read THE ALPHA DRIVE via Net Galley. It is available to buy now on Amazon* and The Book Depository
Professional Reader

*This is an associates link

Leave a Reply

