Book Review #32 THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN by Paula Hawkins

Hubby and I usually avoid going food shopping when we have the kids with us but the other day it was unavoidable. As we rushed around to keep it as short and painless as possible we decided that the kids had coped so well that they deserved a treat. We walked along the toy aisle and picked up a small gift for them both  but as we passed the books I decided that I had been especially good during our shopping trip too so picked up this book.

I was really attracted to the matt-black cover, it’s almost a velvet texture with raised writing- a very touchy feely book. I also loved the red edges of the pages. Just look at it in all its glory!

20160602_233301

Rachel is a mid-thirty-year-old divorcee; she is also an alcoholic. We find her, day after day, on the same train going into London. Each day it stops at a signal, each day she looks at the houses beyond the fence- her old home now occupied by ex-husband and his new wife and baby, and a house a few along with a couple she doesn’t know but has fabricated an identity for in her imagination.

Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

And then she sees something shocking, and in one moment everything changes.

Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she’s only watched from afar.

Blurb

The book is written in the first person from different points of view. From the women in the story: Rachel, Anna, Meghan. I got a bit confused at times because it is not written in chronological order. The entries are dated, which helps, but there is a time jump where we go from Rachel’s story back a year to Meghan’s story. The time difference eventually catches up at the end but at times I had to keep flicking back to check what was going on.

As a thriller it is tense, the main narrator is frustratingly unreliable and the twists and turns are unbearable. I enjoyed reading this book and was immersed in the story until the very end. I tried to work it out, and got there before it was all revealed so was chuffed with myself.

I recommend this book to you. I am not a thriller reader normally so cannot comment on whether it is outstanding in its genre (the reviews seem very good though). The description was good considering the limited locations that the story was based. The narrators were quite similar in voice but distinguishable. As a debut it is fabulous.

I’m going to give it 3 stars ***

It didn’t contain the usual description and imagery that I enjoy so much in fantasy but then it wouldn’t because it’s a totally different genre. What did you think of it?

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN is available to buy at Amazon* and The Book Depository

One comment

  1. Levi · June 11

    Thanks for posting your review. I thought it was a decent read, and I also don’t read too many thrillers. I did have some issues with the POV choices though. Check out my review if you’re interested: https://leviathanbound.wordpress.com/2016/04/22/the-girl-on-the-train/

    Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

