Book Review #29 Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman

Now for a change of author. I am fully aware that there have been a few books by Sarah J. Maas on my book list so I resisted the overwhelming urge to go and get the next in the THRONE OF GLASS series and enjoyed reading a different author instead.

In fact, this was a totally new author to me. I decided to start the NOUGHTS & CROSSES series.

20160528_163120 (2)

Callum is a Nought- an inferior white citizen in a society controlled by the black Crosses.

Sephy is a Cross- and the daughter of the most powerful, ruthless men in the country.

In their hostile world, noughts and Crosses simply don’t mix. But when Sephy and Callum’s childhood friendship grows into passionate love, they’re determined to find a way to be together.

I read this book in just a few sittings, it was an easy read written in the viewpoints of Sephy and Callum. They are young adults facing the usual hardships of growing up alongside the expected mixed race relationship.

The premise behind this book is good. The idea touches on issues that we face on society today and the frictions that occur, but in reverse. However, I can’t say that it really grabbed me. I found it kind of predictable.

The thoughts of Sephy and Callum are well written. Malorie has composed a convincing view from characters their age but I just didn’t really connect with them. There wasn’t something there that had me passionate about what happened to them.

Without giving anything away, I wasn’t particularly moved by the end of the book. I finished reading and just felt- meh!

I feel like perhaps I missed something and, if you think I did, then please let me know. I am happy to receive constructive feedback and will re-read if you think necessary.

Please comment and let me know what you think.

I give this book a 2 star rating. **

I am hoping that, when I read the second in the series,  I will connect more. I cannot deny that the theme is well written but I was disappointed.

Leave a Reply

