Book Review #21 SKY ON FIRE by Emmy Laybourne

I picked this book up from the library the other day. I had been ill and had a rough week for several reasons, so I needed an easy read to relax with. This was perfect.

image

It is the second in a series, the first being MONUMENT 14. The world has some how been destroyed resulting in a polluted atmosphere. The chemicals in the air affect people differently depending on their blood types. The main problem being that any contact with your skin could lead to a rage that’s impossible to control, blistering skin, infertility or paranoia.

The story follows 14 children that have been in Monument shopping mall since the disaster with the air filters keeping them alive. We join them just as they have split into two groups. One group has left to reach Denver International Airport to get help and the group have stayed in the mall to wait for rescue.

Written from the different points of view of two brothers in the separate groups. It’s easy to follow and an enjoyable read.

I found the idea of this very interesting. The response of the teenagers and children was realistic and convincing. I found myself engrossed.

It wasn’t a masterpiece of literature, but it was entertaining and interesting. The language was simple because it was teenagers talking. The change of POV keeps the pace up and I raced through this book without engaging my brain too much which is exactly what I needed.

I am torn between giving this book a 2 star rating or 3.
It was written for purpose and, as I said, used appropriate language for the characters’ POV but I found this limiting in the description and imagery. It wasn’t lyrically impressive.
For this reason I think I’ll go with 2 stars **

Hopefully my reasoning makes sense.

Next review A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

