Book Review #19 I LET YOU GO by Clare Mackintosh

It was my birthday a few days ago! What did I ask for? A new soft, very warm dressing gown, an adult colouring book and a couple of books to read.

Naturally, I had to chose my own books so I spent ages mulling over shop bookshelves and came out with I LET YOU GO and THE MINIATURIST (next on my to read list).

image

With a quick read of the blurb I knew that I wanted to read this and was pleased of a reason to buy it.

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn’t have prevented it. Could she?

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world is shattered. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape her past, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of the cruel November night that changed her life for ever.

DI Ray Stevens is tasked with seeking justice for a mother who is living every parent’s worst nightmare. Determined to get to the bottom of the case, it begins to consume him as he puts both his professional and personal life on the line.

As Ray and his team seek to uncover the truth, Jenna, slowly, begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating .

Blurb

A few pages in, there was a mention of Bristol… Cool! I live there.
Then, an area in Bristol called Fishponds… Oooh! That’s just down the road.
Then a woman with a son called Jacob… My son is called Jacob, though he is slightly older than the character in the book.
Fabulous! How exciting! I can really connect with this.

Then… Jacob got killed in a hit and run, and I was heartbroken.

I tweeted the author:

@claremackint0sh

Set just down the road from where I live and the victim is a boy with the same name as my son… emotional! https://t.co/JLyDkETk2O

And her reply was so sweet:

@pike_jp oh my goodness, that’s tough. Please don’t read it if it upsets you.

I told her that I was hooked and had to find out what happened so I had to continue.

I am so glad I did.

I don’t want to give away the twists so don’t worry. ***No spoilers!***

The story follows the main character, Jenna, and is written in first person when it is about her. It also follows the Detective Inspector Ray and his team as they try to find Jacob’s killer. It is written in third person when it talks about them. This switch between narrative between chapters was surprisingly easy to follow and didn’t distract from the story at all.

After the death of Jacob, Jenna runs away to Wales and finds a secluded place where she can be alone. Nightmares plague her nightly, the events play over and over, she tries desperately to move on and live a peaceful life alone.

Time passes and Jenna begins to find peace, a handsome vet and a new business help her on her way. She still mourns her son but she is happy. A year after the death of Jacob a new appeal for leads finally leads to a breakthrough.

It’s a wonderful book with twists and turns. I absolutely loved it!
It has characters that I loved, characters that I truely hated, characters that I pitied and characters I hoped for the best for.

I can’t say any more without giving things away.
So here’s my rating, in case you haven’t already guessed, it’s 5 stars
*****
Highly recommended.

3 comments

  1. Sandie Davis · January 22, 2016

    I enjoyed this too. Shall look forward to her next one later in the year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

