Book Review #13 THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas

I haven’t read a book in months and I was anxious to get a really good one to excite me again. I borrowed some books from the library and ended up returning them unread but I decided to stick with YA epic fantasy so bought THRONE OF GLASS on Kobo.

image

I’m so glad that I did. After a busy/stressful few months, losing myself in a book was just what I needed.

I really enjoyed the characters and their interactions. The relationship between Celaena, Dorian and Chaol is fascinating and I am eager to read the next in the series to see how it all plays out.

There are many plots surrounding Celaena’s but they do not distract from hers, they add to and develop the story line well. Again, I am eager to find out exactly what the king is up to and Nehemia is an interesting character that I’m sure will continue to feature strongly in the later plot.

The only thing that I found a little difficult to swallow was Celaena’s strength. I have no problem with believing that someone who was trained from a young age could be so agile, fit, cunning, determined, etc. But at some points she seems too strong for a girl in her late teens. However, I understand that training and using someone’s strength against them, yadda yadda, may have some part to play.
I also wish to find out exactly what part magic has to do with Celaena, I’m sure it has a part to play in her abilities.

Overall, this was a great book and I definitely want to read the rest of the series. I like Sarah’s writing style and the voice is good. Some of the ways she describes the setting or a scene is beautiful and images pop into mind easily.

I give this a 4 star rating out of 5, and recommend it to you all.

My next review (I have a few waiting now) will be SHIZZLE, INC by Ana Spoke, whose self publishing story I have been following on her blog. It’s been fascinating to watch the highs and lows as Ana shares it all. Thanks Ana.

Leave a Reply

