Wowsers!

This is insane!

Surely, I’m not the only one who feels like this?
Over the past few weeks I haven’t managed to do anything for me, just for me. Little things like colouring in (I love a bit of art therapy); actually finish reading a book; write my MS; even write a decent blog article.

It’s 9.50 pm here in England and I’m in bed, exhausted.

My mum came out of hospital today after a total knee replacement so the last few days have been stressful and busy trying to visit her. I’m so glad she’s home now, but there will still be frequent visits and nagging to take pain killers and drink enough and do her exercises.

I’m a part time teacher, so the new school year means new children, new planning, there’s a new assessment system in place too, also observations and performance management. At least the assessment and performance management is over now.

My husband is a secondary teacher and has been coming home late and marking even later. We have to carve out time to even get a proper conversation in.

Also, we are heavily involved in our church so that means meetings, home group, music practise and other stuff.

I have quite frankly, felt overcome lately. But, do you know what?
It’s life. And I know it will only be like this for a while. Mum will get better; performance management and observations are done; the children in my classes will get used to my ways and settle down; my husband’s job should also settle down; church will always be a huge part of my life, sometimes it’s easy, sometimes it’s harder.

What can I do? Rest well, cram in the conversations with hubby, cram in some ‘me’ time, stay calm and as organised as possible to get everything done.

If you are going through a tough time, try to recognise it’s just for a time. Seasons in our lives change. Don’t panic, it doesn’t change anything, it just makes everything harder!
Tell someone about it. Treasure the good moments.

2 comments

  1. Madeline Johnson · October 6, 2015

    Thanks for the reminder that this season and time will pass. I am feeling as overwhelmed as you and it’s a good reminder to remember that this isn’t forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • juliapike · January 31, 2016

      Hi Madeline, hope things are a bit easier for you now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

