Book Review #12 RUBY IYER SERIES by Laxmi Hariharan

image

I was sent three books recently as part of a blog tour. The three books were the RUBY IYER series by Laxmi Hariharan.

I must say that I have enjoyed reading them. It was good to get into a story after struggling giving up on the last book I read.

I’m going to use the book descriptions sent to me and then add my review after each one.

Book #0.5: The Ruby Iyer Diaries

This novelette is a companion book to The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer. A peek into the soul of an angry, young girl, who will come of age in a city on the verge of total annihilation. Ruby kept a diary from the age of ten till she ran away from home at sixteen. It is from here that I picked out a few diary entries for The Ruby Iyer Diaries. This short series of vignettes from Ruby’s life, tells you more a little more about Ruby Iyer’s origins.

This was a short book (33 pages) that simply had Ruby’s age at the start of each chapter from ten up to sixteen. It gives a recount of the main events in Ruby’s life that have lead her to be where she is at the start of THE MANY LIVES OF RUBY IYER. It was easy to read and interesting. The strained relationship with her mother, sibling rivalry, tragic events. I would say that you need to read this before the next book to fully understand it.

Book 1: The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer

A girl desperate to rescue her best friend. A cop willing to do anything to save the city he serves. A delusional doctor bent on annihilation. A terrifying encounter propels Ruby Iyer from her everyday commute into a battle for her own survival. Trusting her instincts, she fights for what she believes in, led on a mysterious path between life and death on the crowded roads of Bombay; and when her best friend is kidnapped by the despotic Dr Braganza, she will do anything to rescue him. Anything, including taking the help of the sexy Vikram Roy, a cop-turned-rogue, on a mission to save Bombay. The city needs all the help it can get, and these two are the only thing standing between its total destruction by Dr Braganza’s teen army. As Bombay falls apart, will Ruby be able to save her friend and the city? Will she finally discover her place in a city where she has never managed to fit in? And what about her growing feelings for Vikram?

 As mentioned above, I think that you do need to read THE RUBY IYER DIARIES first before reading this one. The reason being that, if I hadn’t have read it first, I would have been confused at some points as to what was going on. Things were not fully explained in this book so if you came to it fresh it would be a bit disappointing I think. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy it. Far from it, it is an interesting concept that I wanted to follow. Written in the first person, we get an incite into a young woman’s life that is about to change dramatically and not out of choice. The romance element is believable and realistic (no love at first sight, I’m not a big fan of that). Her confusion and emotions are also suited to the situation making the book a pleasure to read. I look forward to finding out what happens in the next book in the series.

Book 1.5: The First Life of Vikram Roy

When Vikram’s father brings his half-brother, Vishal home, his life will never be the same again. Leaving a family in disarray, Vikram heads off to boarding school, where he finds first love and friendship; only to have the idyll shattered. His family held to ransom by a deadly mastermind, planning to destroy Bombay, can Vikram do what it takes to save them. And what does Vishal know about his father’s death? 

A stand alone novel in the Ruby Iyer series.

I found this one harder to read. I think it’s because I’ve been very busy and trying to rush it wasn’t very enjoyable. I don’t think it was because of the writing. As with the first book, it was interesting to see a young Vikram and see him through those teenage years. I was also fascinated to see how Vishal and Vikram’s relationship developed as it did.

I am pleased to have been asked to review these books, and I give them a three star rating out of five. ***
Worth a read.

Leave a Reply

