(Not really a) Book Review #11 HALF WILD by Sally Green

HALF WILD by Sally Green

I can’t really count this as a book review because I just couldn’t finish the book. There were a few things that led to me stopping, about a third of the way through, and giving up. Not all of them due to the author.

Half wild is the second in a series and I haven’t read the first book. This made it very difficult for me to connect to the characters. They were in the middle of a story and I had no idea what was going on. It’s a hard balance for authors, I suppose. If they recap too much in the second book and we’ve read the first, it is annoying. If they don’t recap enough in the second book and we haven’t read the first book it’s very hard to follow.

I didn’t like the way the author uses the layout in the book… Mainly the chchchchchchchchchch nonsense.

image

Quite frankly, I just don’t want to read that. Personally, I think that the author should have words enough to explain that sensation in the main character’s head without using nonsense words to take up space on the page.

image

See what I mean?

Secondly, I am a teacher and have started back after the summer, which obviously means I don’t have so much time for reading. With that in mind, the thought of looking up a synopsis of the first book HALF BAD and then finishing this second one just didn’t appeal. I just wanted to move onto a book I would enjoy.

I was also aware I was taking so long to read it that I hadn’t blogged for a while. I aim to blog once or twice a week and, at the rate I was going, it would be another week before I’d even finished it.

So, I’m not going to award a star rating as it seems unfair. However, if someone reading this blog has read Sally Green’s books and wants to do a guest blog, giving a legitimate review then please get in contact.

Leave a Reply

