Book Review #8 TRUTH OR DEATH by Sara C Roethle

TRUTH OR DEATH is a dark fantasy romance, prequel novella for Bitter Ashes Act 1. I downloaded it for free (and the next one was only 80p) to provide a legit review for the author, Sara C Roethle, after a request on her blog.
Read a book and review… Happy to oblige!

“We laughed together, covered in blood and surrounded by corpses, and I knew my life would never be the same again.” 

In the middle of the night, Madeline is snatched from her life of chosen solitude into a world where she might actually belong. Due to her empathy and other “gifts”, Madeline is a danger to humans, and finds solace with others like her, despite the fact that they’re also her kidnappers. Still, she knows she should escape, but something about dark, but oddly comforting Alaric has her debating her choices, and questioning her moral fiber. 

An occult romance with a dark fantasy twist, the first installment in this serialized, paranormal urban fantasy saga leads the reader into a bloody mystery filled with intrigue, war, love, and betrayal. 

Amazon blurb

Based around a new adult girl named Madeline (Maddy) we are immersed immediately into the action. The story was engaging and I really enjoyed reading it. I did struggle with some of the terminology that was used but not really explained. I had to look up vaettir on Wikipedia (maybe I should have known, but I didn’t) I’m assuming that as Madeleine learns more so will we.

Maddy seems pretty laid back and, although she asks questions, they are not necessarily the questions I would ask: What war? Who are we fighting? Why?
Maybe further on in the story those questions are asked and answered.

There were also couple of editing mistakes within the text: a heart not beating then suddenly beating and ‘every’ being used instead of ever. I assume they are simple fixes though (don’t know about technical stuff).

The description was clever at times making me wish I was such a word smith and the voice clear: sarcastic at times and in-your-face honest. I would definitely consider buying the rest of the acts to finish the journey with Maddy.

I give this novella 3 stars *** meaning that I liked it, I want to read more and I would consider reading more from the author. It’s hard to give a higher rating on a small section of a story.

3 comments

  1. Libby Cole Author · September 2, 2015

    This book sounds really interesting!
    Would you be interested in reviewing my just-released book, Hawaiian Heartbreak? It is an R18 romance, so no problem if it’s not what you’re into. I just really like your honest reviewing style, and thought I’d see if you’re interested. It’s available for free on Kindle for a couple of days amazon.com/Hawaiian-Heartbreak-Libby-Cole-ebook/dp/B014O5ACA4/ or I could also send you a PDF if you prefer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • juliapike · September 3, 2015

      Thanks Libby, yes I would be interested. It’s not my usual genre but I am willing to give it a go. I don’t have a Kindle account, I use Kobo so a PDF would be great.
      I look forward to it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

