Book Review #8 THE STRANGE AND BEAUTIFUL SORROWS OF AVA LAVENDER by Leslye Walton

To my great misfortune I was once mistaken for an angel.

Pain in love is the Roux family birthright. For Ava Lavender, a girl born with the wings of a bird, it is key to her fate.

Ava traces the lives and loves of the Roux women as she tries to understand what has made her who she is and what she will become. On the night of the summer solstice, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air and Ava’s fate is revealed.
Blurb

I didn’t know what to expect when I picked up this book and am all for trying different genres, even though I love fantasy. However, I am not entirely sure what genre this book fits in to. There is fantasy and supernatural mixed with a real life that finishes in the 50s, as far as I can tell.

image

I have to admit that I really struggled with this book at the start. It is made clear that the history is told from the main character’s point of view (unreliable narrator) which seems popular at the moment, but I didn’t like it. Ava adds flair and unbelievable events in to real history of her family that I found hard to read because it was just, in my opinion, odd: her grandmother’s sister turning into a canary, for example.

When Ava is talking about her mother the events seemed more believable and I began to enjoy the story. Ava’s life story is interesting because of her obvious difference – her wings. The story of a teenage girl longing to fit in, longing to escape the confines of her home was engaging. I enjoyed following her story.

The supernatural element was an interesting element but again a little
odd. Maybe because I don’t usually read those types of books.

Overall, I enjoyed most of the book and sped through the second half after a stuttering start. I give it 2 stars **
I understand that may seem a bit harsh but compared to other books where I have given 3 or higher it just didn’t grab me like they did.

Next I am reading TRUTH OR DEATH by Sara C Roethle after her request for legit reviews on her blog. I look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

