Book Review #7 DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT by Laini Taylor

After enjoying the first book in the trilogy so much (DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE) I couldn’t wait to dive into this one. But I have to say I was a little disappointed. I found it hard to stay interested. I even stopped reading it, read a whole other book and then went back.

Karou is still the main character, along with Akiva, with their points of views being displayed through alternating chapters again. It still works well and is easy to follow. New characters are introduced adding more variety and some interesting changes in opinions happen too.

The second book started well, but the middle really lacked something. However, I’m glad I picked it up again because the ending was good. It had a twist that I am very interested to see how it all pans out.

Perhaps it’s that middle book syndrome, where the author has to show time passing and development of the characters and generally there is a lull in the over arching story reflected in the lull in the book. I don’t know. Maybe because the first book was so good it made this one pale in comparison? Maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood?

Don’t get me wrong, there are many good parts of the book.
– I liked Karou’s character development at the end, and I was pleased that just because she is female didn’t mean she needs a man to give her strength.
– I enjoyed the development of some of the characters we have already met.
– I enjoyed finding out more about Akiva.
– I like Laini’s style of writing (but feel some of the voice was lost in this book).

I don’t want to give the plot away but there were some very interesting things happening at the end and I will definitely get the third book to see what happens.

Over all, this book gets 3 stars from me ***

It contained necessary developments with the characters and the plot but I found the middle section hard to get through, the start and finish are great.

Have you read this book? Did you feel the same?

I’m planning to read THE STRANGE AND BEAUTIFUL SORROWS OF AVA LAVENDER next by Leslye Walton.

Leave a Reply

