Book Review #6 APPLE AND RAIN by Sarah Crossan

When Apple’s mother returns after eleven years away, Apple feels whole again. She will have an answer to her burning question – why did you go? But just like the stormy Christmas Eve when she left, her mother’s homecoming is bitter sweet. It’s only when Apple meets someone more lost than she is, that she begins to see things as they really are.
Blurb

image

I picked this book up from the library yesterday and finished it within 24 hours. This is a contemporary YA fiction, written in the first person. The main character, Apple, is a fourteen-year-old girl whose mum left her with her Nana when she was just three.

Without wanting to give too much away, the struggles of Apple as a teenager getting through the usual friendship problems and how she copes with moving in with her mother are very well written. I found myself sympathising with Apple easily because we’ve all experienced friendship problems at some point. I also thought the dynamics between Apple, the mother and Rain.

One of my favourite things about this book is the realistic reaction of Apple: her fears, needs and longing to be loved by her mother. I do wonder if Apple’s turn around was perhaps too quick but I was happy with the story.

An enjoyable read and one of the first contemporary YA books I have read with no sci-fi or fantasy added in.

I give this a 5 star rating *****

I fully recommend it to youth and adults and want to read Sarah Crossan’s first book THE WEIGHT OF WATER

One comment

  1. trainofthought · May 8, 2016

    I just read this book too and loved it! You can check out my review here:
    https://mybookylife.wordpress.com/2016/05/08/apple-and-rain-by-sarah-crossan/
    I think it was a truly amazing book and you have captured all the main elements of the book and turned them into a magical review! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

