PitchWars Mentees Bio #PimpMyBio 2015

image

Hello one and all,

Here’s my #PitchWars mentee Bio (in case you hadn’t guessed).

I am a 34-year-old mum of two, married 12 years this summer, been teaching for just as long. I teach year 5 (9/10 year olds- don’t know what grade that is in America) and love talking to them about books during quiet reading time.

Writing is what I squeeze into my time when I’m not at work, (Thursdays and Fridays) alongside the essential mummy jobs, keeping the house livable, feeding my family, cleaning them, taking them to school. I would love to be able to spend more time on it.

My current MS started as an idea 7 (yes seven) years ago and not having much of a clue I started writing after a brief plan. Three years later I had only written a tiny amount, but I was now working part time instead of full time so wanted to write more. I decided it needed to be done properly so found a ‘Writing Story Books for Children Course’. It was brilliant, enlightening and terrible at the same time.

image

I was getting nowhere because I was doing it all wrong!
But now I knew what to do.

Now imagine a montage set to the song ‘Eye of the Tiger’ of me doing this:
– Character Studies
– More detailed plan
– Chapter by chapter break down
– Maps
– Writing thousands of words more
– Editing
– Realising it is a series of books not just one
– Entering a couple of competitions and getting some interest #PitchCB #PitchtoPublication and feedback
– Editing (again)
– Entering Pitch Wars

There, a few years in one simple montage.

So here I am, one YA fantasy book later, with two more planned but needing some love and excited to see what happens in the next two weeks.

image

Please follow this link to other mentee bios

Leave a Reply

