Book Review #2 GONE GIRL – Gillian Flynn

I always like to read books before I watch the films and with GONE GIRL now on Sky TV it’s time I got on with it. We would have gone to the cinema but baby-sitting tickets are precious and we usually save them for films we both want to see (Sci-fi/action).

*There are no spoilers in this blog*

Who are you?
What have we done to each other?
These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick… Blurb

GONE GIRL is Gillian Flynn’s third book. The Book People came into work and all three books were in a deal so I couldn’t resist. Normally I am a YA fantasy reader – Divergent, Hunger games, Maze Runner, Lord of the Rings type. But I am willing to branch out and try new things (like this blog).

I have avoided reading or discussing anything about the film so I have come to the book knowing nothing, which I think worked really well. The narrative is from the two main characters’ point of view, very clearly alternating between the two so there was no confusion whilst reading.

It was an interesting read from the start. I enjoyed the contrast between Amy and Nick’s view of their marriage and life together.

There are two sides to every story…

Engaging characters and a great voice throughout had me annoyed, shocked, astounded and wistful all in the right places. I connected with the characters and cared about what happened. I was eager to keep reading and see what was going to happen. Could I figure it out? Was I smart enough to work out what was going on?

I didn’t quite get it, but I was on the right lines. I ploughed through the book trying my best not to ignore all social etiquette on my holiday (it was family so they understood) reading every evening, on the beach, in bed snuggled up against the cold. The questions in my head that needed answers: Will they get away with it? Can they figure it out?

Over all it’s a very clever piece of writing with twists and turns to keep you on your toes. I’m not entirely sure I liked the ending but, after thinking about it, I don’t think it could have worked any other way.

My sister has now borrowed the book and is sat in the beach enjoying the sun whilst she reads.

image

My star rating is 4 stars **** out of 5.

I truly enjoyed it and would recommend it to friends. I will also read more of Gillan Flynn’s novels. I will definitely be watching the film. But I still feel just a little unsettled with the ending…
Is that just me?
Please comment below and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

